TikTok has launched a new function and will notify the user when it detects uncertain or misleading content so that it does not contribute to its spread. This is a measure with which we want to reduce the spread of fake news through the network and which is similar to functions that have also been launched by other social networks. For example, Twitter includes warnings in potentially harmful tweets about COVID-19.
The social network of Chinese origin has reached agreements with false information verifiers such as Newtral or SciVerify, who from now on will be in charge of evaluating the accuracy of the content, alerting with their checks if it is uncertain or misleading content. The content will not be withdrawn, it will only be reported that it has not been possible to verify its veracity.
After launching this verification process, the TikTok user will be able to see a banner on the screen that will notify them if the content of the video has been reviewed but it has not been possible. validate it conclusively. In this case, it will be the user himself who decides whether to broadcast that video.
Content creators will also receive an alert in the event that one of their videos has been flagged as unverified content. With this measure, TikTok hopes that users will also take part in this effort to eliminate fake news and misleading content from the Internet, since they will be given the option to share the content or cancel its broadcast.
The tool capable of detecting these types of videos has been designed and tested with Irrational Labs, a behavioral science lab. One of the areas in which they work is differentiation between fact and opinion, the interpretation of information sources and reflection on the need to share content.
According to TikTok, in the preliminary tests they carried out before officially launching this function, they were able to verify that there were users whose share video index fell by up to 24%, while the “likes” on non-validated content also fell by 7%. And all thanks to the inclusion of these alert messages about the possibility that the content of the videos that are shared is misleading.